Knowledge Base/Account/Users

User Manager

Alison Groves
posted this on October 13, 2010 05:34 PM

About User Manager

The User Manager is where Admins change settings for each user on your Raven account. You can give sub-users full (Admin) or custom access to your account. You can also add an unlimited number of read-only sub-users (for example, clients who want more real-time information could be granted read-only access).

 

Add a User

Only Admins can add users. Be sure that you're logged in as a user with Admin access to make these changes.

  1. Go to Preferences > User Manager.
  2. Click the Add Sub-User or Add Read-Only User button.

    Screen_Shot_2013-08-13_at_6.28.26_AM.png 
     OR  Screen_Shot_2013-08-13_at_6.28.33_AM.png
     
  3. Enter user details. You can opt to send a welcome email, or set the user as an admin if they you are creating a sub-user. Admins can add and edit users and manage link monitoring.

    Screen_Shot_2013-08-13_at_6.29.16_AM.png

  4. Assign a role to the user. When you create a new sub-user or read-only user, the default role is set to none. We recommend that the default role stay set to none, especially for read-only users. This ensures that the user will only have access to the data you’d like them to, even after you add new Profiles. 

    Screen_Shot_2013-08-13_at_6.30.37_AM.png

  5. Need to limit a user to a single profile or campaign? Assign the role you’d like to use for just that profile. Then, to then limit access to campaigns within that profile, check the box next to Customize for access to specific campaigns.

    Screen_Shot_2013-08-13_at_6.31.14_AM.png

  6. Click Save User Settings when you're done.

 

You can also make any existing read-only user a sub-user by clicking the Grant Full Access link under Options.

Edit Users

Go to Preferences > User Manager to manage users. Only admins will see this navigation option. You can edit or de-activate users. You can downgrade sub-users to read-only users and you can upgrade read-only users to sub-users.

Details

  1. Go to Preferences > User Manager.
  2. Click on the Edit link next to the name of the user you want to edit.
  3. User details: You can change the name, username, email, password and Admin status for this user. Note: if your email address is associated with another account, you can use this area to change your username to something different, and resume using your desired email address.
  4. Click on the Save User Settings box.

Permissions

Account owners have the ability to hide usage limits and overage notices from sub-users by checking the Hide Usage Limits option.

Roles

Admins can create custom Roles in the Role Manager. Then, Admins can assign those Roles to users in the User Manager. This allows Admins to limit or grant access for team members to specific Profiles.

  1. Go to Preferences > User Manager.
  2. Click on the Edit link next to the name of the user you want to edit.
  3. User roles: Set the default Role for this user. You can also set individual Roles for this user on individual Profiles; simply click the Customize box next to the role drop-down menu and check the campaigns for which you wish this User to have this Role. Note: if the default role is set to None, and the individual Profile roles are set to Use Default, the user will not be able to login to Raven.
  4. Click on the Save User Settings button.

Note: if your newly created sub-user cannot log in to Raven, ensure that they have access to at least one Profile.

Read-only users

You can setup as many Read-Only users as you'd like in Raven in Preferences > User Manager.

To add a Read-Only user, Go to Preferences > User Manager, click the Add Read-Only User link, then follow the steps above for adding sub-users. To adjust read-only user settings, click on the Edit link and follow the same steps as for sub-users to adjust Details and Roles.

You can make any existing sub-user a read-only user by click the Make Read-Only link under Options.

De-activate users

For any sub-user or read-only user, you can click on the De-activate link in the Options column to remove that user's access to your Raven account. To view all inactive users, click on the Show/Hide Inactive Sub-Users or Show/Hide Inactive Read-Only Users links.

More information

Read the Raven How Do I Assign Access Rights? Knowledge Base article for more information.

Usage

Agency accounts can appoint profile admins. For the most up-to-date information about what's included with your account, see Raven Tools Plans and Prices.

 
Topic is closed for comments